Are animals aware of their own mortality

Evolution, Natural Selection, Medicine, Psychology & Neuroscience.

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

Are animals aware of their own mortality

#1  Postby JackRussell » Jul 28, 2014 5:45 pm

I have been sitting at the pub this evening and a conversation started where one person stated as a fact that Homo Sapiens Sapiens are the only animal that are demonstrably aware of their own mortality. He argued that this is because Humans have the capacity to be taught about death and realize the implications for themselves at a very young age. He further argued that this had never been demonstrated in any other animal, including primates that are closest to us in the evolutionary sense.

I am by no means an expert about such issues in a biological framework and was wondering if anybody could teach me something interesting about this assertion and any relevant study that I might undertake to explore it more fully?

I thought it was an interesting question and wondered by what metrics one may try to examine any validity to the premise.

I hope it's not too boring and would welcome any elaboration.

If I have posted this in the incorrect subsection, please feel free to move it, I will not bleat. :)

JackRussell.
JackRussell

Name: Mark
Male

England (eng)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: Are animals aware of their own mortality

#2  Postby Deremensis » Jul 28, 2014 11:47 pm

Elephants and a few other animals are known to mourn their dead. I can't really think of any high order mammal that isn't "aware" of mortality really - most animals understand death to some extent. Domestic dogs, as an other example, are known to have trouble dealing with the loss of another dog they cared for - and it's known that one way to help such dogs is to actually allow them to see, sniff, et cetera, their dead companion, so that it clicks with them that their companion is dead.