Humans : Apes or Monkeys? Both? Neither?

just idle curiosity, really

The accumulation of small heritable changes within populations over time.

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

Humans : Apes or Monkeys? Both? Neither?

#1  Postby proudfootz » Jul 15, 2017 6:13 pm

Sparked by a post in a totally unrelated thread, I recalled that AronRa published an opinion that seemed to be what I thought he termed 'controversial' regarding the taxonomy of humans.

I have no real knowledge of all this either by profession or vocation.

Is this a big deal that people get upset about?
"Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn't." - Mark Twain
proudfootz

United States (us)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: Humans : Apes or Monkeys? Both? Neither?

#2  Postby Animavore » Jul 15, 2017 6:35 pm

You think that's bad? According to Neil Shubin (the guy who found Tiktaalik) we're still fish. Only fish which are adapted to land.

The argument makes perfect sense to me, but I had a heated debate with an older person in Glasgow last year about it. I just put it down to paradigms shifting one funeral at a time. :grin:
A most evolved electron.
Animavore

Name: The Scribbler
Male

Ireland (ie)
Print view this post

#3  Postby proudfootz » Jul 15, 2017 6:45 pm

Hm. I might draw the line at fish, but maybe I shouldn't.
"Truth is stranger than fiction, but it is because Fiction is obliged to stick to possibilities; Truth isn't." - Mark Twain
proudfootz

United States (us)
Print view this post

#4  Postby Animavore » Jul 15, 2017 6:51 pm

proudfootz wrote:Hm. I might draw the line at fish, but maybe I shouldn't.

He was being a bit humorous. "Fish" is problematic because there's all types of things called fish which aren't fish. We're more properly called chordates.