As I near the end of my third year as a full-time writer...

Discuss books here.

Moderators: Blip, The_Metatron

As I near the end of my third year as a full-time writer...

#1  Postby kennyc » Nov 03, 2014 3:56 pm

As I near the end of my third year as a full-time writer I invite you to enter my world. I’ve been a reader forever, particularly science fiction as I grew up and through my adolescence and early adult life. The wider world of literature opened to me somewhat late in my education as I was completing my engineering degree and had to fill in some English courses. The writing began with my job creating technology assessment reports for a major telecommunication company. From there I was drawn back to the science fiction I loved, took independent writing courses and joined a local writers group which focused on speculative fiction.

I published a few short stories as a result, but life interfered and I spent most of my time just making a living and raising a family but always with the hope of getting back to the writing. After a failed attempt at writing full time – just couldn’t make it economically – I went back to the corporate slave world and vowed to write only what I felt like writing. That was poetry. I wrote a hell of a lot of bad poetry (but with a few shining stars) which fortunately was never published. I continued to learn and bide my time and strove to write and publish only the best things I could while I worked toward a future opportunity to write full time again which I fortunately was able to reach a few years ago. Since then I’ve published four poetry collections, a memoir of growing up in Oklahoma, and a collection of science essays. These are available at Amazon.com as ebooks (my preferred medium). I don’t currently plan to publish my work on paper, but as with all things that could change.

Take a look at the books at my Amazon author page: http://www.amazon.com/Kenny-A.-Chaffin/ ... _pel_pop_1