Creationist letter of complaint

Debunking Creationist arguments

Incl. intelligent design, belief in divine creation

Moderators: Calilasseia, DarthHelmet86, Onyx8

Creationist letter of complaint

#1  Postby Chief Wiggum » Dec 11, 2014 9:39 pm

My wife works for a children's non-fiction publisher and today received this letter, which she forwarded to me, thinking I would 'enjoy' it. Even as a novice, I could certainly have a pop at debunking each and every one of his points but I would welcome expert opinion also.
Surely the human body works best on a 7-day cycle with 7 days off?!

--------------------

Dear XXXXX,

Yesterday I was in a bookshop and picked up your book '1000 Scientific Facts. It is beautifully presented with all the illustrations and I thought what a wonderful book for my 10 year old grandson. And then I turned to the chapter on evolution. What a shame that it is in this book as evolution is a theory and not a fact, and with the information available these days it is evident that life could not have simply evolved.

I believe that the earth and everything in it was created in 7 days as described in Genesis.

Here are just a few reasons:-

1. The rotation of light. When light passes through certain organic molecules, it is rotated to the left (levo) or to the right (dextro).
When these compounds are formed in a laboratory there is an equal mixture of levo and dextro molecules. In a livinf cell all the molecules are levo. How could these have been formed by chance chemical reactions?

2. There is a valve (mitral valve) between the left and right auricles in the heart and in the foetus this valve is open so that the blood bypasses the ventricles and the lungs. At the moment of birth this valve must close so that blood flows through the ventricles and the lungs. How did this happen - by chance or designed?

3. How did male and female reproductive organs occur? How did reproduction take place before then?