Enrichment ideas for kids

share things you do with your kids

Discussions for education, teaching & parenting.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Enrichment ideas for kids

#1  Postby ChasM » Dec 10, 2010 2:02 am

I have a seven-year-old daughter [C], and I'm always interested in providing her with a lot of good learning experiences outside of school (without getting too serious or obsessive about it). With this thread, I'd like to share with other parents ideas, tips and things to do that provide enrichment above and beyond school (or homeschooling curriculum, if that is what your child is doing).

I'm a teacher who has taught at the middle school and high school level. My daughter went to a Montessori school from preschool through kindergarten, and now she's in 1st grade. (I'd highly recommend a genuine Montessori program for any child: the self-paced, experiential nature of the program is superb, as are its social aspects.)

In that this thread is for people to drop suggestions, I would appreciate it if critiques, arguments, etc. be handled in PMs.

So, here we go.

TV time
[Reveal] Spoiler: Sorry, had to get this one out of the way. Naturally, as a teacher, I might be a bit preachy on this, so I put it in a spoiler
C is an avid TV watcher, but I try to limit the amount of time she watches shows (we borrow movies from the library) - this is helped by the fact that I don't have cable (awfully Neanderthal of me, I know). Beyond the obvious mind-numbing qualities of extensive TV viewing, I'm also concerned about the constant barrage of commercials and its effect on kids. (I recall an interview with a journalist writing on advertising who posed a question something like this: How do you feel about inviting strangers into your home every day, people with their own agendas and designs on your children? If this strikes you as a bit paranoid, read up on advertising and marketing to children.)

Good games