Help raising kids in conservative religious family

Discussions for education, teaching & parenting.

Moderators: Blip, The_Metatron

Help raising kids in conservative religious family

#1  Postby DanDare » Feb 28, 2010 1:48 am

From over in the welcome threads:

newbie76 wrote:Hi! Just joined today. I was alerted to the site by a post on Atheist Nexus. I am new to all that Atheism entails, and am trying to find the best way to tell my family and friends. I have a six year old little girl who is very curious, and would like to find tips on how best to riase her rationaly and still let her have her make believe. Any suggestions? :think:

newbie76 wrote:Thanx, Everyone!
Yes, I am from a VERY conservative, christian family. My little sis is in a christian college trying to get a bio-chem degree. She is still very much engrossed in the christian culture, and most in my family do NOT believe in evolution, and think that atheists are immoral and lost. So, I am having a difficult time trying to make some casual remarks tthat can lead to me coming out. I love my family, and do want them in my life. I've argued some general points with them, but haven't out right told them that I am an atheist. Thanx again!
Atheist. Ozzie.
Strange Flight
DanDare
RS Donator

Male

Australia (au)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: Help raising kids in conservative religious family

#2  Postby DanDare » Feb 28, 2010 1:58 am

You should have a poke through the "Interesting links for Parents and Teachers" section.

A first step would be to disconnect religion and morality in your child's mind. To do that you need to teach your child ethical thinking skills, how to decide for herself what is "the right thing to do" in any situation, and how to question if someone else's idea of the right thing to do makes sense. This is an important skill for anyone who is not to be straight jacketed by someone else's thinking system.
Atheist. Ozzie.
Strange Flight
DanDare
RS Donator

Male

Australia (au)