Homeschooling

Discussions for education, teaching & parenting.

Moderators: Blip, The_Metatron

Homeschooling

#1  Postby sanja » Mar 02, 2010 10:13 pm

I recently (yesterday) heard of homeschooling.
I went to FB group to check what it is about (I do not understand the concept) but no one answered to my question.

i thought that homeschooling means that private teachers come to your home and teach your child, but, when I read what members wrote, it seem to me that, in fact, parents are teaching their children alone.

i would like to know some more about it ( I am a teacher myself, and I am very interested in all matters of education)
Yo, ho, haul together, hoist the colours high ...
sanja

Name: sanja
Female

Serbia (rs)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: Homeschooling

#2  Postby cathyincali » Mar 02, 2010 10:27 pm

Homeschooling generally refers to parents "teaching" their own children or at least taking responsibility for their own children's education. What I mean by the latter is that homeschooling parents often encourage their kids to sign up for educational courses at local museums, after-school programs, community colleges, and so forth, but since the kids-plus-parents are CHOOSING to participate in those courses, and perhaps learning other things at home on their own, it is still well within the homeschool movement. Some homeschooling families do indeed have teachers come into their home, part-time, to fulfill specific needs--but that is more unusual (probably because it is more costly).