Pseudoscientific teachers in my university [+WEEKLY UPDATE]

Discussions for education, teaching & parenting.

Moderators: Blip, The_Metatron

Pseudoscientific teachers in my university [+WEEKLY UPDATE]

#1  Postby rationalityiscorrect » Sep 07, 2019 1:24 am

Hello, i'm a student of Medicine in Brazil, we are having classes about basic concepts of medicine, but there's a problem, in my university pseudoscientific practices like homeopathy, acupuncture, ayurvedic medicine and quantum woo are common and widely accepted. So in this is specific class, my professor is a homeopath, on his first class he recommend us the movie The turning point, made by Fritjof Capra, there's a lot of quantum woo in the book plus the "critic" of traditional science.
Skepticism is rejected as obsolete, one professor in particular is an antivaxxer, there's even a alternative medicine group in the university. So, in this topic i'm going to report every week what happened in my university in regard to pseudoscientific practices to you.
Wish me good luck.
rationalityiscorrect

Name: Vicente Luiz M. Cabral

Brazil (br)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: Pseudoscientific teachers in my university [+WEEKLY UPDATE]

#2  Postby Macdoc » Sep 07, 2019 1:44 am

ouch ...ever thought of switching schools?? Move to Cuba ??

Welcome
Travel photos > https://500px.com/macdoc/galleries
EO Wilson in On Human Nature wrote:
We are not compelled to believe in biological uniformity in order to affirm human freedom and dignity.
Macdoc

Male

Australia (au)
Print view this post

#3  Postby SafeAsMilk » Sep 07, 2019 1:56 am

Oh man, that sounds terrible. Do most people go along with it, or are there a lot like you that see how crazy it is?

I'm really curious about how skepticism is rejected as obsolete. How does that reasoning go?
Yes, a mighty hot dog is our Lord!
SafeAsMilk

Name: Makes Fails
Male

United States (us)
Print view this post

#4  Postby I'm With Stupid » Sep 07, 2019 3:02 am