Water in the classroom: help devising experiments

Discussions for education, teaching & parenting.

Moderators: Blip, The_Metatron

Water in the classroom: help devising experiments

#1  Postby ChrisTaylor » Mar 18, 2010 10:45 am

I'm a student teacher charged with devising some science 'experiences' for my grade 3/4 class. The ongoing integrated/inquiry topic is 'Aboriginal Australia'. That's what I have to work with. I can stretch it a bit: the students have already had an incursion with a 'bush tucker' man that taught them about bush survival, so I can take a scientific approach to that and have it deemed relevant, particularly if I throw in some historical stuff about what Indigenous people did to extract water from stuff in the driest parts of the continent.

I have some scientific concepts I want to explore: condensation and evaporation, but I may also end up looking at capillary action. It's a 3/4 level. We're dealing with some foundational concepts here. It needs to be tactile. Students need the change to predict, observe and explain what happens.

Anyway, the 'experience' I want to give them relates to condensation. On the way to school I'm going to pick a bunch of eucalyptus leaves (or maybe even a couple of kids of leaves) and stuff them in a plastic bag in front of the kids. They'll predict what will happen in their workbooks and then we'll put the bagged leaves aside for the rest of the day.