What Should We Really Be Teaching?

The Failure of Education?

Discussions for education, teaching & parenting.

Moderators: Blip, The_Metatron

What Should We Really Be Teaching?

#1  Postby hackenslash » Feb 13, 2014 12:36 pm

Motivated by an exchange in another thread, and some things I've been pondering for a few years, I thought it might be interesting to explore whether our education systems are actually as effective as they could be.

For some considerable time, I've been thinking that there's something sorely missing at the very foundation of the education of our children: Critical thinking.

True enough, we've begun to move away from the more pedagogical approach to education and toward something a bit more androgogical, but we still don't encourage our children to challenge paradigms, or to properly assess truth claims.

I myself came to critical thought quite late (and there are some hereabouts who would suggest that I still haven't come to it :lol:) and, in fact, looking back on my attitude toward some things, I realise just how uncritical I was at times. An instance comes to mind in a book I read some years ago. The book itself is unimportant but, suffice it to say, I accepted a good deal of what was in it on face value, and there were some pretty wild claims in it. It was written by an authoritative source, a respected scholar in his field, and I, a mere layman, was ill-equipped to challenge it with any confidence. Assessing it now, I realise that much of it was bollocks. I'm sure most of us have had some experience of this.