Evolution of Consciousness Inevitable?

The accumulation of small heritable changes within populations over time.

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

Evolution of Consciousness Inevitable?

#1  Postby NateHevens » Mar 02, 2010 2:33 pm

(Before I go on I just want to point out, as I usually do, that I'm no scientist. This is, at best, a drunk rambling written by a sober guy. So keep that in mind. Also... if this is in the wrong section, please feel free to move it.)

As with a lot of my posts, I'm posting this to be ripped apart, with the express purpose of learning.

Those of you who've read my introduction thread know I belong to the forums of a site called Christian Apologetics & Research Ministry (CARM.org).

There is a member of the forum, a Creationist, who has done something amazing. Of every Creationist I have ever met, online and offline, only 2 have managed to gain my respect: a history teacher I had in college, and this member of CARM. The reason for both is simple... they both made an effort to learn about actual evolution instead of just sticking to the strawmen. And with the forum member, it's possible she may eventually come to accept evolution (the teacher was of the Kurt Wise variety... had no qualms admitting that the Bible trumps evidence for him... I respected the honesty about it, mostly... although he was also "agnostic", as it were, about the age of the earth, so he wasn't a Young-Earth Creationist in the strictest sense... oh and no, he did not teach history from a religious perspective... he seemed respectful of the fact that the vast majority of the class were either agnostics or atheists).

Anyways, we're discussing so-called "ape to human evolution". I said that this isn't entirely accurate because we are essentially apes... uber-intelligent apes.

Then I went on the following pontification, which I'll go ahead and just copy over to here:

-----------------------------------