Had America not joined the war...

Discussion and analysis of past events and their causes and effects.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Had America not joined the war...

#1  Postby jamest » Aug 04, 2010 12:08 pm

Hello. Another 'what if' thread. I was wondering how people think WW2 might have panned-out had America not joined the war.
I'm no expert, but my guess is Russia would still have overcome the Germans. I'm not sure how that would have worked-out for Britain & France though. But I have absolutely no idea how the Japanese situation would have worked-out. Were they unstoppable, other than US intervention (let's imagine that Pearl Harbour didn't happen)? If not, then what was the extent of their ambitions and goals?
Thanks.
Il messaggero non e importante.
Ora non e importante.
Il resultato futuro e importante.
Quindi, persisto.
jamest

Male

Jolly Roger (arr)
Print view this post

Re: Had America not joined the war...

#2  Postby Sityl » Aug 04, 2010 12:11 pm

From my understanding, Britain was pretty bad off from daily bombings by the Germans. There's an unconfirmed hypothesis that the military at Pearl Harbor had radar and thus saw the incoming Japanese attack, but that they allowed it to happen because they knew they needed something to get public opinion behind helping out in ww2. It's probably not true, but certainly, at that point it was basically England v. the world on the eastern front.
Stephen Colbert wrote:Now, like all great theologies, Bill [O'Reilly]'s can be boiled down to one sentence - 'There must be a god, because I don't know how things work.'

Sityl

Name: Ser Sityllan Payne
Male

United States (us)
Print view this post

#3  Postby jamest » Aug 04, 2010 12:13 pm