How semantic research is done?

(I mean: research about meanings/usages of words)

Discuss various aspects of natural language.

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

How semantic research is done?

#1  Postby seeker » Feb 02, 2014 6:31 pm

I have some questions about how semantic research is done. For example, how can empirical research be done when we want to know how people in group G use word W, and what different variations of meaning of word W can be found in people within group G, compared with another group G'? Are there standard procedures for doing this kind of research? Are there journals where studies of this kind are published? Do you know bibliography about these issues?
seeker

Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: How semantic research is done?

#2  Postby don't get me started » Feb 04, 2014 12:59 pm

Hmm, interesting question and one that I cannot give a comprehensive answer to I'm afraid. Semantics is not my major field, but I have some background knowledge about how words and meanings work. I'll give some examples.

One basic way of looking at word meanings and usages is through corpus studies. In this field, a data base of text is made. Some of the larger ones run to tens of millions of words. There are different corpora for different types of language. Spoken or written, British or American (or other national varieties) TV programs, interviews, casual conversation and so on. A computer program (A concordancer) will search for every instance of the word in the corpus and display it in it's immediate context.

Here is a concordance for the word 'effect' (You don't need to read it all...just scan it)

001. e table should be thinking, well does that change adversely EFFECT other jobs in our areas and it shouldn't happen that
002. eight days but that's ignored! And that's that's that's an EFFECT of of statute so if you are getting your divorce, mak