It's good to be here!

Hello everyone!

Hello and welcome to RatSkep! :smile: Why don't you introduce yourself here? ;)

Moderators: DarthHelmet86, campermon

It's good to be here!

#1  Postby Cnidarian_King » Aug 01, 2016 6:15 am

I am a college student in the United States currently studying for my psychology who has also taken interest in biological anthropology. This forum has been immensely helpful for finding peer-reviewed papers and being exposed to the articulation of the ideas therein. I have found the writings of Calilasseia particularly helpful in educating myself on evolution and how to properly combat the anti-science sentiments that I encounter.

I grew up in a "Christian Science" family (pardon the oxymoron) and abandoned the belief in its literal doctrines at about 14 years of age. However, I retained a kind of spiritual and theist point of view for a while and got myself into all kinds of bullshit like astrology, crystals, levitation, meditation (to transcend reality, not just relax), aura reading-you name it. I also touted the idea that you could "think away" cancer which came entirely from my religious background; the faith healing is possibly the most venomous part of the Christian Science religion.

Unfortunately, I did not care about science or really any subject in school up until I completed my high school diploma and began taking community college courses. Learning became exhilarating and I began to question my thoughts more commonly. I have learned about the dangers of ignorance and have ever since abandoned a significant amount of New Age and pseudoscience nonsense. I was “agnostic” (like there might be a higher power) until I watched the Unbelievers by Lawrence Kruass and Richard Dawkins.

I am here to exchange ideas with fellow skeptics and perhaps share my knowledge on subjects that I am well-informed.

It’s great to meet you all! :grin: :drunk: