UK top earner tax to be cut

40% from 50%

For discussion of politics, and what's going on in the world today.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

UK top earner tax to be cut

#1  Postby Paul G » Mar 16, 2012 9:33 am

http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2012 ... p-tax-rate

George Osborne poised to slash top tax rate from 50p to 40p
Chancellor's dramatic move to cut top rate of income tax in next week's budget will delight the Conservative right
Paul G

Name: Beef Joint
Male

England (eng)
Print view this post

Re: UK top earner tax to be cut

#2  Postby Wiðercora » Mar 16, 2012 9:37 am

Now, I'm no expert, but. Aren't the Tories making all these cuts to public services to try and 'cut the deficit' and 'balance the budget', ie stop spending more than we rake in? So, surely you would not cut the tax rate because then you would take less in. Or something.
If the unemployed learned to be better managers they would be visibly better off, and I fancy it would not be long before the dole was docked correspondingly.
-- George Orwell

Infrequently updated photo blog.
Wiðercora

Name: Call me 'Betty'.
Male

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

#3  Postby Paul G » Mar 16, 2012 9:46 am

Yes that's pretty much the case.
Paul G

Male

England (eng)
Print view this post

#4  Postby mattthomas » Mar 16, 2012 9:49 am

Wiðercora wrote:Now, I'm no expert, but. Aren't the Tories making all these cuts to public services to try and 'cut the deficit' and 'balance the budget', ie stop spending more than we rake in? So, surely you would not cut the tax rate because then you would take less in. Or something.

Did you notice the bit about the lib dems supporting it in return for an increase in taxable allowance for everyone else?

I would love to know where and how the shortfall will be made up.
mattthomas

Print view this post

#5  Postby Paul G » Mar 16, 2012 9:54 am

mattwilson wrote: