The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

Atheism, secularism & freethought etc.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#1  Postby DoctorE » Apr 10, 2010 9:51 am

Round table arts and culture discussion programme with Martha Kearney.

1
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nkWOuT36k1I[/youtube]

2
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4aBT9vWaYlA[/youtube]

3
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rg50hN0QnCQ[/youtube]

4
[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A2rloWgAwgs[/youtube]
User avatar
DoctorE
THREAD STARTER
 
Posts: 11067
Age: 64
Male

Iceland (is)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#2  Postby Wiðercora » Apr 10, 2010 2:15 pm

It'd love to watch it, but it'll probably only piss me off. Does it mention 'high priest Dawkins'? Our Holy Book, The God Delusion?
If the unemployed learned to be better managers they would be visibly better off, and I fancy it would not be long before the dole was docked correspondingly.
-- George Orwell


Infrequently updated photo blog.
User avatar
Wiðercora
 
Name: Call me 'Betty'.
Posts: 7079
Age: 34
Male

Country: The Grim North.
United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#3  Postby Chrisw » Apr 10, 2010 5:59 pm

It was a discussion about atheism so why have one atheist and three theists? OK the theists were a diverse bunch but it still seems unbalanced.
Chrisw
 
Posts: 2022
Male

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#4  Postby Crocodile Gandhi » Apr 10, 2010 6:01 pm

They could have saved themselves a lot of time by asking the question and then saying 'no' in as many languages that use the word.
If I believe in heaven I deny myself a death. Dying keeps me conscious of the way I waste my breath - Cosmo Jarvis
User avatar
Crocodile Gandhi
RS Donator
 
Name: Dave
Posts: 4142
Age: 34
Male

Country: Australia
Australia (au)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#5  Postby natselrox » Apr 10, 2010 6:04 pm

Crocodile Gandhi wrote:They could have saved themselves a lot of time by asking the question and then saying 'no' in as many languages that use the word.


It should be all the languages, I guess. 'No' is a fundamental concept in any form of communication, I think.
When in perplexity, read on.

"A system that values obedience over curiosity isn’t education and it definitely isn’t science"
User avatar
natselrox
 
Posts: 10037
Age: 112
Male

India (in)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#6  Postby Crocodile Gandhi » Apr 10, 2010 6:07 pm

natselrox wrote:
Crocodile Gandhi wrote:They could have saved themselves a lot of time by asking the question and then saying 'no' in as many languages that use the word.


It should be all the languages, I guess. 'No' is a fundamental concept in any form of communication, I think.


Apart from the Tiki Tiki people of Papua New Guinea who 'say' no by slapping the backs of their thighs.
If I believe in heaven I deny myself a death. Dying keeps me conscious of the way I waste my breath - Cosmo Jarvis
User avatar
Crocodile Gandhi
RS Donator
 
Name: Dave
Posts: 4142
Age: 34
Male

Country: Australia
Australia (au)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#7  Postby natselrox » Apr 10, 2010 6:14 pm

Crocodile Gandhi wrote:
natselrox wrote:
Crocodile Gandhi wrote:They could have saved themselves a lot of time by asking the question and then saying 'no' in as many languages that use the word.


It should be all the languages, I guess. 'No' is a fundamental concept in any form of communication, I think.


Apart from the Tiki Tiki people of Papua New Guinea who 'say' no by slapping the backs of their thighs.


Another strange thing in this regard is the Telugu-speakers in South India who move their head side-ways when they mean to say 'Yes' and nod when they mean to say 'Yes'. Food for thought... :think:
When in perplexity, read on.

"A system that values obedience over curiosity isn’t education and it definitely isn’t science"
User avatar
natselrox
 
Posts: 10037
Age: 112
Male

India (in)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#8  Postby Crocodile Gandhi » Apr 10, 2010 6:17 pm

While that is very interesting, I was joking in my post. As far as I am aware no such tribe o people exists.
If I believe in heaven I deny myself a death. Dying keeps me conscious of the way I waste my breath - Cosmo Jarvis
User avatar
Crocodile Gandhi
RS Donator
 
Name: Dave
Posts: 4142
Age: 34
Male

Country: Australia
Australia (au)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#9  Postby Agrippina » Apr 10, 2010 6:19 pm

Nooooooooooooooo! It's starting all over again. :lol:
A mind without instruction can no more bear fruit than can a field, however fertile, without cultivation. - Marcus Tullius Cicero (106 BCE - 43 BCE)
User avatar
Agrippina
 
Posts: 36924
Female

Country: South Africa
South Africa (za)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#10  Postby Animavore » Apr 10, 2010 6:20 pm

Can someone watch this for me and write a synopsis?

I grow weary of these types of programmes.
A most evolved electron.
User avatar
Animavore
 
Name: The Scribbler
Posts: 45108
Age: 45
Male

Ireland (ie)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#11  Postby amyonyango » Apr 10, 2010 6:57 pm

I saw a quote on here posted by someone else but I'll steal it because I like it:

"Atheism is as much a religion as being healthy is a disease."

(Don't know the source but I think it was a forum member here!)
Assumption is the mother of all fuckups.
User avatar
amyonyango
RS Donator
 
Name: Amy
Posts: 1251
Age: 43
Female

Country: England
England (eng)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#12  Postby Agrippina » Apr 11, 2010 6:13 am

I particularly like the line about "giving the book to young impressionable minds to read" and the Bible isn't given to "young impressionable minds" so that they can be indoctrinated? What kind of double-standard is that?
A mind without instruction can no more bear fruit than can a field, however fertile, without cultivation. - Marcus Tullius Cicero (106 BCE - 43 BCE)
User avatar
Agrippina
 
Posts: 36924
Female

Country: South Africa
South Africa (za)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#13  Postby Paul G » Apr 12, 2010 5:44 pm

Can't watch it. As soon as I see a priest and a ridiculous question I know it's just going to piss me off. I want to be educated, not count how many different ways another adult can be wrong.
User avatar
Paul G
 
Name: Beef Joint
Posts: 9836
Age: 41
Male

England (eng)
Print view this post

Re: The Review Show - Is Atheism the new Religion?

#14  Postby IIzO » Apr 13, 2010 1:11 am

Just saying i just watched the entire show , except for hitchen being quite obtuse, it was very interesting no sectarian display , very good comprehension of the parties really worth a watch even if at the end the 3 theist vs 1 atheist numerical problem was showing, but it was very nice.
Between what i think , what i want to say ,what i believe i say ,what i say , what you want to hear , what you hear ,what you understand...there are lots of possibilities that we might have some problem communicating.But let's try anyway.
Bernard Werber
User avatar
IIzO
 
Posts: 2182

Country: La France , evidement.
France (fr)
Print view this post


Return to Nontheism

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest