A question about light and color...

Study matter and its motion through spacetime...

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

A question about light and color...

#1  Postby paceetrate » Feb 28, 2010 12:43 am

There's probably a really simple answer to this, but I haven't figured it out yet, so I thought I would just ask you awesome peoples.

Here's what I already know, so correct me if any of this is wrong: Color is to light what pitch is to sound, the wavelength of the light is what determines what color our brain will assign to the light we're seeing. With red being the longest wavelength of light that we can see, and violet being the shortest. (Red-orange-yellow-green-blue-violet.) And objects that don't emit their own light appear certain colors because they absorb all other wavelengths and only reflect the one that you see.

Now, since I'm an artist, I was thinking about this in terms of mixing paints one day, and was a little puzzled. See, if you mix red paint, which is reflecting a long wavelength, with the shorter-wavelengthed yellow, you get a color whose wavelength is in-between the two: orange. Likewise, if you mix yellow and blue, you get a color who's wavelength is in-between the two: green.

But if you mix red paint (longest wavelength we can see) with blue paint (very short wavelength) you don't get a wavelength between the two. You get violet, which has a shorter wavelength than blue. How does that happen? :think:
paceetrate

Female

United States (us)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: A question about light and color...

#2  Postby Paul Almond » Feb 28, 2010 12:58 am

Let's look at what is going on in the eye first. You have three types of color receptors to detect red, green and blue light. When you see light from an object, the color receptors detect the amounts of red, green and blue light, and this information is put together to get a color.