Is This What Quantum Mechanics Looks Like?

Veritasium video - physical realization of pilot wave theories

Study matter and its motion through spacetime...

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Is This What Quantum Mechanics Looks Like?

#1  Postby minininja » Nov 09, 2016 8:53 pm

This may not be how quantum mechanics actually works, but it's a really cool physical representation of it that matches quantum effects, including the double slit experiment.

Science is awesome. :mrgreen:
[Disclaimer - if this is comes across like I think I know what I'm talking about, I want to make it clear that I don't. I'm just trying to get my thoughts down]
minininja

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

Re: Is This What Quantum Mechanics Looks Like?

#2  Postby CdesignProponentsist » Nov 10, 2016 12:32 am

I've been a fan of the pilot wave interpretation ever since hearing of it. It seems to match the behaviors all too closely to be entirely coincidence.
"Things don't need to be true, as long as they are believed" - Alexander Nix, CEO Cambridge Analytica
CdesignProponentsist

Male

United States (us)
Print view this post

#3  Postby newolder » Nov 10, 2016 9:50 am

Some of the problems associated with the de Broglie/Bohm “pilot wave” idea include the inability to treat spin correctly (for a component of spin in, say, the z direction would break the rotational symmetry of pilot waves) and the fact that the pilot waves must act superluminally and therefore contradict special relativity in order to yield an interference pattern.

Our old friend and blogger Lubos Motl has posted a few times on issues with “pilot wave” mechanics, e.g. Bohmian mechanics is incompatible with loop corrections and Droplets and pilot waves vs quantum mechanics The second is a bit of a rant but does contain enough of the mathematics to show the differences between classical objects guided by pilot waves and the Schrödinger wave function.