Please help me, I don't know what to do! :(

Ex-Muslim...

Abrahamic religion, you know, the one with the mosques...

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Please help me, I don't know what to do! :(

#1  Postby Final Fantasy » Oct 13, 2012 1:33 am

I'm an atheist ex-Muslim in secret. I'm in my final year of university. I'll hopefully try to find my own place to stay and a steady income of cash. I am very worried for my 2 sisters and brother though.

For so long I have put off relationships with women etc. because it would have to be in secret. I tried it once, it failed depressingly :(

The idea is, finding a graduate job, settling down and getting married etc. I would rather not marry at all or have children because my preference is strongly anti-religion. Going against family wishes means breaking ties, at the same time I love my parents (despite teh fucking abuse my siblings and I get). My mum would be devastated and traumatised, I cannot be the cause of that. I also want a safe route out for my siblings, they are smart, I know they are not too fond of Islam. But what can they do about it? They're in high school and financially dependant on my parents, we all are.

It's a heavy burden, I have anxiety, panic and insomnia as a result, it has gradually accumulated over the years (I suspect childhood abuse and school bullying played a large rule). I feel like a mess basically in a huge dilemma.

I always feel constantly judged by others, maybe I'm being paranoid but I get a lot of nasty looks from white people as if they have a strong hatred towards me... (I hate how many people assume that just because you're brown skin you must be Muslim...) - this is Plymouth area btw.

I have no one to talk to, or confide in.

The advice that I took on board by a member of another forum: