My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

Discussions on astrology, homeopathy and superstition etc.

Moderators: kiore, The_Metatron, Blip

My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#1  Postby jerome » Oct 03, 2012 11:26 am

OK, this is cryptzoloogy which may or may not be a Pseudo-science, depending on the cryptozoologists I guess. This book does not really count as pseudo-science, but as there is no category for "Creationist Cryptozoology" and books about flying (not-quite) dinosaurs over the USA, well I have put my review here. Bit too long and fiddly to remove formatting and paste it in here so I'll just link to my blog - http://jerome23.wordpress.com/2012/10/0 ... d-edition/

Hope of interest.
j x
Yours sincerely, Jerome -- a threat to reason & science

I am an Anglican Prejudice declared - My blog: http://jerome23.wordpress.com/
User avatar
jerome
THREAD STARTER
 
Name: CJ
Posts: 2047
Age: 52
Male

Country: UK
Denmark (dk)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#2  Postby chairman bill » Oct 03, 2012 12:31 pm

Photo of a pterosaur. Ok, it's a pelican, but if you're looking for a pterosaur, or have been reading about them & they're on your mind ...

Image
“There is a rumour going around that I have found God. I think this is unlikely because I have enough difficulty finding my keys, and there is empirical evidence that they exist.” Terry Pratchett
User avatar
chairman bill
RS Donator
 
Posts: 28354
Male

Country: UK: fucked since 2010
United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#3  Postby jerome » Oct 03, 2012 12:52 pm

Lovely picture Bill! Did you take it? Well if I can't have a pterodactyl I'll settle for a Thylacine! :)
Yours sincerely, Jerome -- a threat to reason & science

I am an Anglican Prejudice declared - My blog: http://jerome23.wordpress.com/
User avatar
jerome
THREAD STARTER
 
Name: CJ
Posts: 2047
Age: 52
Male

Country: UK
Denmark (dk)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#4  Postby chairman bill » Oct 03, 2012 1:46 pm

jerome wrote:Lovely picture Bill! Did you take it? Well if I can't have a pterodactyl I'll settle for a Thylacine! :)

Not mine - pinched off the internet
“There is a rumour going around that I have found God. I think this is unlikely because I have enough difficulty finding my keys, and there is empirical evidence that they exist.” Terry Pratchett
User avatar
chairman bill
RS Donator
 
Posts: 28354
Male

Country: UK: fucked since 2010
United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#5  Postby HughMcB » Oct 03, 2012 3:35 pm

We still have crocodiles, sharks, spiders, jellyfish etc etc hundreds of millions of years later. Of course, we have spotted all of the above with ease. What sort of pterosaurs population would be required to provide the requisite longevity. And where the fuck would this population be hiding. Backwater USA just seems a bit mental.
"So we're just done with phrasing?"
User avatar
HughMcB
RS Donator
 
Posts: 19113
Age: 38
Male

Country: Canada
Ireland (ie)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#6  Postby Clive Durdle » Oct 03, 2012 6:49 pm

A live pterosaur was exhibited at the Natural History Museum. I have seen the film.
"We cannot slaughter each other out of the human impasse"
Clive Durdle
 
Name: Clive Durdle
Posts: 4861

Country: UK
United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#7  Postby Clive Durdle » Oct 03, 2012 6:51 pm

I thought the proposed high oxygen levels are impossible because everything would catch fire with the first lighting flash.
"We cannot slaughter each other out of the human impasse"
Clive Durdle
 
Name: Clive Durdle
Posts: 4861

Country: UK
United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#8  Postby Dudely » Oct 03, 2012 6:53 pm

Clive Durdle wrote:I thought the proposed high oxygen levels are impossible because everything would catch fire with the first lighting flash.


Yes, fires were common, and this is reflected in the fossil record from that time. But even doubling the oxygen would still leave more nitrogen than anything else. It's not THAT bad until you get up to some really high concentrations.
This is what hydrogen atoms do given 15 billion years of evolution- Carl Sagan

Ignorance is slavery- Miles Davis
User avatar
Dudely
 
Posts: 1450

Canada (ca)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#9  Postby Dudely » Oct 03, 2012 6:55 pm

Clive Durdle wrote:A live pterosaur was exhibited at the Natural History Museum. I have seen the film.


Cool. I saw one where giant transforming robots from another planet come to earth and do battle. What do I win?
This is what hydrogen atoms do given 15 billion years of evolution- Carl Sagan

Ignorance is slavery- Miles Davis
User avatar
Dudely
 
Posts: 1450

Canada (ca)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#10  Postby Durro » Oct 03, 2012 11:41 pm


!
GENERAL MODNOTE
The derail into the expanding earth has been sent over to the appropriate thread. I invite members who wish to discuss that issue to visit that thread. But please keep to topic in this thread thanks.

Durro
I'll start believing in Astrology the day that all Sagittarians get hit by a bus, as predicted.
User avatar
Durro
RS Donator
 
Posts: 16737
Age: 55
Male

Country: Brisbane, Australia
Australia (au)
Print view this post

Re: My Live Pterosaurs in America book review

#11  Postby HughMcB » Oct 05, 2012 5:36 pm

I think the author of this book was interviewed by the guys on the podcast Mysterious Universe;
http://mysteriousuniverse.org/2012/09/e ... -universe/

Starts shortly after 25mins.
"So we're just done with phrasing?"
User avatar
HughMcB
RS Donator
 
Posts: 19113
Age: 38
Male

Country: Canada
Ireland (ie)
Print view this post


Return to Pseudoscience

Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest