Batman's Traumatic Early Origins

as well as the originators

Studies of mental functions, behaviors and the nervous system.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Batman's Traumatic Early Origins

#1  Postby kennyc » May 07, 2014 12:16 pm

I find this fascinating.

Batman's Traumatic Origins
A horror in Bruce Wayne's childhood created the Dark Knight. Did a real-life childhood horror create Bruce Wayne?

RICHARD A. WARSHAKMAY 6 2014, 7:31 AM ET

When a really bad thing happens to children unexpectedly, the event can change them forever. As a child psychologist, I see firsthand what that means. Traumatized children often try to avoid thinking about a terrifying ordeal, but the horrible experience nevertheless replays itself in their minds and, as a consequence, in their lives. Sometimes this happens in immediate, obvious, and direct ways: bad dreams at night, phobias during the day. Other times, the traces of trauma can be delayed, subtle, indirect, and symbolic.

An example: One of my patients, Jeff, repeatedly acted out the same scenario with his action figures. A great battle ensued between the evil warriors and the superheroes. The battle reached the top of a castle where eventually the evil warriors were thrown over the parapet and died.