How to check contemporary validity of ideas?

Studies of mental functions, behaviors and the nervous system.

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

How to check contemporary validity of ideas?

#1  Postby ogger » Jun 22, 2019 9:40 pm

I'm new in psychology and when I study from my textbook usually I encounter with Freudian or Neo-Freudian ideas. However how can I know if their ideas are accepted or not?

As an example Freud's types of anxieties. Reality anxiety, moral anxiety, neurotic anxiety. I want to know if psychologists currently accept this classification or not.

Like I sad i'm new in psychology. My question may show lack of understanding in some points, I would be even happier if you point those out so that I can learn more.
ogger

Name: Ogger

Wallis and Futuna (wf)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: How to check contemporary validity of ideas?

#2  Postby Hermit » Jun 22, 2019 10:15 pm

Care to tell us your textbook's title and author(s)? If you usually encounter Freudian or Neo-Freudian ideas in it you probably got the wrong one.
God is the mysterious veil under which we hide our ignorance of the cause. - Léo Errera

God created the universe
God just exists
Hermit

Male

Print view this post

#3  Postby Spearthrower » Jun 23, 2019 12:07 am

ogger wrote:I'm new in psychology and when I study from my textbook usually I encounter with Freudian or Neo-Freudian ideas. However how can I know if their ideas are accepted or not?

As an example Freud's types of anxieties. Reality anxiety, moral anxiety, neurotic anxiety. I want to know if psychologists currently accept this classification or not.

Like I sad i'm new in psychology. My question may show lack of understanding in some points, I would be even happier if you point those out so that I can learn more.

If I may ask a question to answer your question: are you studying just for personal interest, or for an academic institute?