Richard Feynman, briefly, on psychology

Studies of mental functions, behaviors and the nervous system.

Moderators: Calilasseia, amok, ADParker

Richard Feynman, briefly, on psychology

#1  Postby Stephen » Mar 01, 2010 4:54 am

I read this today in his published lecture series from 1969 at the University of Washington in Seattle, The Meaning of It All. I am inclined to think there is some value in what he's saying here, but of course I'm no expert and neither is he, he would've surely admitted. I've read a bit online and there is a story that the entire psych dept stood and left when he said this. Anyway, just wanted to see what you all thought. I couldn't find the full text online so I printscreened it from google books.

Stephen

Male

United States (us)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: Richard Feynman, briefly, on psychology

#2  Postby MolotovNomNom » Mar 01, 2010 5:11 am

Just from reading the excerpt, I think he's referring to psychoanalytical approaches of Freud and Jung and criticizing specifically those two. I don't think he was referring to behavioral and cognitive psych, which have more evidence and science behind them. While Freud and the such pretty much started therapy, it wasn't really based on anything concrete. Psychoanalysis may still be used but I think it's safe to say it is not used as much anymore. :ask:
"in my America, nobody tells people when they can masturbate."-Jon Stewart

Check out my blog!!!!!!!
http://absurdn.blogspot.com/
MolotovNomNom

Male

United States (us)
Print view this post

#3  Postby Mr.Samsa » Mar 01, 2010 6:56 am