The psychology of the troll?

Anthropology, Economics, History, Sociology etc.

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

The psychology of the troll?

#1  Postby Trenton » Jan 24, 2013 2:39 am

So what is trolling, we're all capable of it, having a bad day set out to provoke someone, but that is not what I mean, I'm talking about the consistent troll, why do they do what they do, why are they so in need of attention that they troll all the time? What is that strange psychological disorder we call trolling?

A subject that fascinates me, I am a psychology post grad, and I would like some insight into what you people think about these people? I have my own ideas, but I am always open to knew opinions, by the way this is not what my PhD is about, it's just a hobby. :)
Trenton
Banned User

Name: Gral

Jolly Roger (arr)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: The psychology of the troll?

#2  Postby reddix » Jan 24, 2013 2:47 am

:coffee:
reddix
RS Donator

Canada (ca)
Print view this post

#3  Postby Trenton » Jan 24, 2013 10:58 pm

Ok well no one understands trolls it seems, it's not an Earth shattering conclusion but it is about right.

This is my first thread, shot down in flames, actually not shot down in flames if you catch my drift. :)
Trenton
Banned User

Name: Gral

Jolly Roger (arr)
Print view this post

#4  Postby Mazille » Jan 24, 2013 11:13 pm

There once was a user on the RD forum (this one's sorta-predecessor) who posted a very well written and long piece on trolls and their motivations there. Fucked if I can find it, but maybe someone here still has it, or knows where it can be found.
- Pam.
- Yes?
- Get off the Pope.
Mazille
RS Donator

Male

Austria (at)
Print view this post

#5  Postby Varangian » Jan 24, 2013 11:16 pm

I think many of them just like to be assholes in order to blow off steam.

"Bunch together a group of people deliberately chosen for strong religious feelings,
and you have a practical guarantee of dark morbidities." - H.P. Lovecraft