Voting VS Spending

Which is more effective?

Explore the business, economy, finance and trade aspects of human society.

Moderators: Calilasseia, ADParker

Re: Voting VS Spending

#101  Postby Xerographica » May 16, 2018 6:38 am

Thommo wrote:
Xerographica wrote:
Thommo wrote:One of the issues here is that we want participants to pay to take part, and that honestly is not going to fly.

Why wouldn't it fly? There's no minimum payment requirement for the students in the spending group. As far as the results are concerned it doesn't make a difference whether a total of $5 dollars or $5,000 dollars is spent.

Have you ever tried to get people to pay you so that they can do you a favour before? When I was a student I did a couple of studies, and getting participants is - without getting them to pay - a complete nightmare.

But, if you think you can make it work, knock yourself out. I don't object.

Just don't expect me to be very invested in something I think (a) isn't going to work and (b) won't show anything useful if it does.

Incidentally, yes it will make a huge difference if $5 or $,5000 is spent, both in terms of small sample uncertainty (it would make it almost impossible to get a statistically significant result, and very prone to outliers) and also (although much less importantly) in terms of undermining any conceivable connection with people being willing to pay lots of money to buy national elections.

If there are 300 students in the spending group... what percentage of them would choose to spend money to influence the book rankings? Personally, I'd definitely choose to spend money because I truly love one of the books. So then the real question is... what percentage of the 300 students truly loves at least one of the books on the list?

The students should appreciate that the results of the experiment would be published. So everybody would be able to see how random students at UCLA, for example, rank the books.