What makes the Social Sciences scientific?

Anthropology, Economics, History, Sociology etc.

Moderators: kiore, The_Metatron, Blip

What makes the Social Sciences scientific?

#1  Postby OrdinaryClay » Oct 24, 2012 8:25 pm

What makes the Social Sciences scientific? It seems the only thing that makes social science a science is the mathematics of statistics and probability.
OrdinaryClay

United States (us)
Print view this post

Re: What makes the Social Sciences scientific?

#2  Postby Clive Durdle » Oct 24, 2012 10:02 pm

Who says they are? I have a social studies degree in Arts.
"We cannot slaughter each other out of the human impasse"
Clive Durdle

Name: Clive Durdle

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

#3  Postby ramseyoptom » Oct 24, 2012 10:34 pm

Social Scientists want respectability, and this is what they get by using the word science. Mostly it is the equivalent of using seaweed to forecast the weather, just not as accurate. :)
The fact that a believer is happier than a skeptic is no more to the point than the fact that a drunken man is happier than a sober one.
George Bernard Shaw
ramseyoptom

Name: Ian
Male

Isle of Man (im)
Print view this post

#4  Postby VazScep » Oct 24, 2012 10:50 pm

Clive Durdle wrote:Who says they are? I have a social studies degree in Arts.
I win. I have a maths degree in Arts.

I then went into computer science, which is an oxymoron worthy of hacker humour.
Here we go again. First, we discover recursion.
VazScep

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

#5  Postby CdesignProponentsist » Oct 24, 2012 11:20 pm

Where social science can provide hypothesis, deduce what the necessary implications of that hypothesis would be, then measure or experiment to see if observation matches that, it is science.

So yes, there is plenty of science in social science.
"Things don't need to be true, as long as they are believed" - Alexander Nix, CEO Cambridge Analytica
CdesignProponentsist

Male

United States (us)
Print view this post