Are there any pianists around here?

Discuss books, film, tv, music, games and all other arts here.

Moderators: Blip, The_Metatron

Are there any pianists around here?

#1  Postby Kazaman » Apr 17, 2010 10:55 pm

I've been playing for a few months under two years, loosely following the curriculum of the Royal Conservatory of Music (by loosely, I mean that my teacher and I mostly use other resources for finding compositions to play and that I skip grades: I started in one, obviously, then skipped to four this year and will be in eight or nine next year). Anyhow, my main reason for starting this topic was to ask who among the pianists or classical music enthiusiasts here enjoys Chopin? He is quite possibly my favourite musician (it's a tough call between himself, Bach, Beethoven and Tchaikovsky), whose "Polonaise HéroÏque" I am currently learning. Does anyone have any tips for learning this other than to take it in sections and go slowly?
Kazaman

Name: Stephen
Male

Canada (ca)
Print view this post

Ads by Google

Re: Are there any pianists around here?

#2  Postby GenesisNemesis » Apr 19, 2010 4:52 am

I'm not a pianist officially yet. I have, though, skipped a few grades and have come to ignore the grades altogether. I enjoy Chopin, but my favorite composer is Rachmaninov.
"Humanity has the stars in its future, and that future is too important to be lost under the burden of juvenile folly and ignorant superstition."
-Isaac Asimov
GenesisNemesis

United States (us)
Print view this post

#3  Postby THWOTH » Apr 19, 2010 5:38 pm

I tickle the ivories here and there. I had some lessons some years ago, but mainly I just fiddle and work out my own arrangements of tunes from top-line and chords, or by listening to stuff on Youtube. Trying to nail this one at the moment...

[youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bhQgta94IG8[/youtube]