Blackmailing females into having sex!

Evolution, Natural Selection, Medicine, Psychology & Neuroscience.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Blackmailing females into having sex!

#1  Postby natselrox » Aug 10, 2010 3:26 pm

The most fascinating ethology story I've read in a while! This is Life, friends! This is the reason why I studied science! HELL YEAH!!!

http://blogs.discovermagazine.com/notro ... aving-sex/
When in perplexity, read on.

"A system that values obedience over curiosity isn’t education and it definitely isn’t science"
natselrox

Male

India (in)
Print view this post

Re: Blackmailing females into having sex!

#2  Postby HughMcB » Aug 10, 2010 3:35 pm

Holy crap that was amazing. Thats some amazingly complicated behaviour.
"So we're just done with phrasing?"
HughMcB
RS Donator

Male

Ireland (ie)
Print view this post

#3  Postby natselrox » Aug 10, 2010 3:38 pm

HughMcB wrote:Holy crap that was amazing. Thats some amazingly complicated behaviour.

Think of the risks, the gains, the complicated calculations required to evolve such a complicated behaviour. All done over an evolutionary timescale by the mindless trial-and-error process of natural selection.

Life is amazing, Hugh!!! And at moments like this, I feel happy that I quit Physics for Biology! :dance: :dance: :dance: :dance: :smile: :smile:

"A system that values obedience over curiosity isn’t education and it definitely isn’t science"
natselrox

Male

India (in)
Print view this post

#4  Postby chairman bill » Aug 10, 2010 3:42 pm

I've tried making injured gazelle calls & threatening the wife with lions. Might work better if we lived in Africa :(
“There is a rumour going around that I have found God. I think this is unlikely because I have enough difficulty finding my keys, and there is empirical evidence that they exist.” Terry Pratchett
chairman bill
RS Donator

Male

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

#5  Postby HughMcB » Aug 10, 2010 4:09 pm