Crowd sourced legal ideas

Anything that doesn't fit anywhere else.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Crowd sourced legal ideas

#1  Postby The_Metatron » Oct 15, 2017 5:34 pm

I'm not asking for legal advice. But, I'd like to publish my thoughts about a legal problem, for some review. I know we have some pretty sharp legal types around here.

Facts:

I am a resident of Lewis county, Washington.

My domestic water comes from a community well that serves the 12 or so houses in my neighborhood. This water system was, until 1 October, owned and operated by a private water company, H&R Waterworks.

On 1 October, H&R sold their operations to the Thurston County Public Utility District. Thurston county, not Lewis county, where I live. That's important.

A PUD is a public corporation set up in many counties to operate under the authority of commissioners elected by the residents of the county.

So far, I got five four letters from the Thurston County PUD about this purchase, telling me how my rates are going to change, and why, and announcing meetings where we can discuss it.

H&R Waterworks was one of many private utility companies governed by the state Utilities and Transportation Commission, the state level public oversight agency that protects the interests of state citizens served by private utility companies. It was through the UTC that H&R set our existing rate tariffs. The UTC has no jurisdiction over public utility departments, even if they act as a private water company to citizens outside of their county. Thurston PUD has also asserted in some of their letters that they are not subject to the jurisdiction of the UTC.

I originally thought that the loss of oversight by the UTC of my water purveyor may have posed some problems, but on further reflection, I think this goes in my favor. I'll get back to that, too.

So, this is happening. They bought my water system. In January, they're going to start sending me bills with their new rates.