Watching the Moon

Hello and welcome to RatSkep! :smile: Why don't you introduce yourself here? ;)

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Watching the Moon

#1  Postby Moonwatcher » Mar 01, 2010 8:00 pm

Moonwatcher signing in. I was over at a certain other board that shall remain nameless that suddenly pulled the plug on us. So now I'm over here. I may visit there but I suspect it won't be as likeable a format anymore. I was "High_Evolutionary" over there. As I'm fairly new at starting to learn any science in-depth, I thought Moonwatcher was a more appropriate name anyway.
We're holograms projected by a scientist riding on the back of an elephant in a garden imagined by a goose in a snow globe on the mantel of a fireplace imagined in a book in the dreams of a child sleeping in his mother's lap.
Moonwatcher

Male

Print view this post

Re: Watching the Moon

#2  Postby campermon » Mar 01, 2010 8:01 pm

Welcome ! :cheers:

I love that film too!

:mrgreen:
Scarlett and Ironclad wrote:Campermon,...a middle aged, middle class, Guardian reading, dad of four, knackered hippy, woolly jumper wearing wino and science teacher.
campermon
RS Donator

Male

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

#3  Postby Weaver » Mar 01, 2010 8:05 pm

campermon wrote:Welcome ! :cheers:

I love that film too!

And the associated SF story, which is where Moonwatcher was named.

I wonder whether he ever found a tall enough tree? ;)

Welcome!
Retired AiF

Cogito, Ergo Armatus Sum.
Weaver
RS Donator

Male

United States (us)
Print view this post

#4  Postby Moonwatcher » Mar 01, 2010 8:07 pm

I love that film too!

Thanks. Loved the movie and the book. The book told us a bit about that proto-scientist, Moonwatcher, trying to understand and learn about his world. I remember once thinking that, within the context of his world and the information and evolutionary development he had to work with, he was actually far smarter than a Creationist,