Questions about entanglement and hidden variables

A definition from a programmers perspective

Study matter and its motion through spacetime...

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Questions about entanglement and hidden variables

#1  Postby CySlider » Aug 30, 2014 10:09 pm

Hi Everyone.

I know that the current state of knowledge is, that it is proven by the Bells unequality, that hidden variables can't be the explanation of entanglement. However I was not yet able to follow through with this proof and I understand that it is a really hard one to get around. So I am still free to speculate about it not being true :smoke:

I am a programmer and my first question is if this statement is true:

"If there exists a function for a digital computer, that emulates the response of detectors, only based on the state of the detector, the state of the detected particle and a finite number of hidden variables imprinted into the particle, so that two supposedly entangled particles behave in the simulated detectors the same as they do in reality in any possible configuration, then it would prove the possibility that hidden variables exist."

My second question is:

How can the effect of "Spooky action at a distance" be instantaneous in a universe guided by relativity that does not have something like simultaneus events?

There can be configurations, where one observer argues that particle A got messured first, and another that argues with the same justification that particle B got messured first. So how can a measurement of A effect particle B in a relativistic universe?

Edit: Bell not Bernoulli ofc. Sorry.
Last edited by CySlider on Aug 31, 2014 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
CySlider

Print view this post

Re: Questions about entabglement and hidden variables

#2  Postby epepke » Aug 30, 2014 10:44 pm