Life's Paths

Oh, the miriad of possibilities...

Student life.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Life's Paths

#1  Postby Zadocfish2 » Oct 24, 2011 5:43 pm

I may not be well known yet, but some of you are familiar with me. I am somewhat facing a challenge in my life:

I am a student in Job Corps. I am studying Business, and am doing quite well with it. My teacher says that I have really high aptitude for it. On the other hand, I love science. I really want to study biology or paleontology at Montana U.

My counselor tells me that I can do anything with my level of intelligence (got a 98% on the ASVAB; he also says that I could write my ticket into the military, but I know I couldn't handle boot camp). I have tried University before, but I hadn't worked at all back then, so I crapped out on my homework. I know how to work now, though, having held a 40-50 hour job for 2 months, twice.

My choice is this: The path of the business man for profit, or the path of the scholar for interest. Knowing that you people are intelligent, I humbly ask for advice (since I can no longer rely on prayer).
User formerly known as Falconjudge.

I am a Christian.
Zadocfish2

Name: Justin
Male

United States (us)
Print view this post

Re: Life's Paths

#2  Postby campermon » Oct 24, 2011 5:46 pm

If you have the opportunity to study then do so.

;)
Scarlett and Ironclad wrote:Campermon,...a middle aged, middle class, Guardian reading, dad of four, knackered hippy, woolly jumper wearing wino and science teacher.
campermon
RS Donator

Male

United Kingdom (uk)
Print view this post

#3  Postby Wiðercora » Oct 24, 2011 5:59 pm

I'd study Science, but I have neither the aptitude nor the inclination for Business Studies.
If the unemployed learned to be better managers they would be visibly better off, and I fancy it would not be long before the dole was docked correspondingly.
-- George Orwell

Infrequently updated photo blog.
Wiðercora

Name: Call me 'Betty'.
Male

United Kingdom (uk)