"New eye discovery further demolishes Dawkins"

"Backwardly wired retina an optimal structure"

Incl. intelligent design, belief in divine creation

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Re: "New eye discovery further demolishes Dawkins"

#921  Postby Jie » Nov 06, 2014 6:34 am

Jayjay4547 wrote:
Jie wrote:

I happen to be an artist. What you're saying is basically that when I'm in my home, the house itself has the know-how to make a painting.

In my next sentence below, I said something different than what you claim I’m “basically saying”, when I named the artist as Gaia. But to follow your line of questioning as well as I can; we can see the house but we can’t see the artist. In a way that’s also true in your analogy. I’m not an artist, you are. But what can one physically point to that makes me not an artist and you one? I could even falsely claim to be an artist. But put us each in a room with some paint and after a while an observer will see art on the walls of your room and no art on my walls.

It looks like you were trying to make some point there, but try as I might, I cannot make sense of what it could be. Or maybe you were just trying to confuse me, in which case I congratulate you on your admirable success.

Jie wrote:

"Gaia" is a handle I could use for "who" is knowledgeable, also "God". Something bigger than us. But as soon as one does that, it draws the argument into bickering about the exact nature of what is bigger than us, or flat denial of the possibility. Basically as I see it, humans are observably made up of a hierarchy of organs and smaller bits, but we are also carried along in an unpredictable creative system, which can lead to the intuition that we aren't at the top of the natural hierarchy. Why should we be?

This assumes the existence of such a natural hierarchy. Can you give a demonstration of it?

The observable hierarchy runs from the lowest upwards, as atoms, molecules, body organs, the animal, community, nation, biome, biosphere.