Gay premier has no right to implement sex ed program

Says opposition leadership candidate.

For discussion of politics, and what's going on in the world today.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Gay premier has no right to implement sex ed program

#1  Postby Shrunk » Feb 25, 2015 2:02 pm

A few hundred people gathered outside the Ontario legislature Tuesday to protest the province's revised sex-education curriculum, while inside Premier Kathleen Wynne went on the attack against an Opposition critic.

Progressive Conservative Monte McNaughton, who is running for the party's leadership, is openly critical of the updated curriculum and said it's not the job of the premier – "especially Kathleen Wynne" – to tell parents what is age appropriate for their children.

Wynne, who is openly gay, demanded that McNaughton explain why he feels she is not qualified to set standards for kids in schools.

"Is it that I'm a woman? Is it that I'm a mother? Is it that I have a master's of education? Is it that I was a school council chair? Is it that I was the minister of education?" Wynne said in the legislature....

McNaughton said Wynne's suggestion that he's homophobic is "the lowest thing a premier of Ontario could say about any other legislator."...

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/s ... -1.2970133

Actually, no, I don't think that the "lowest thing" one could say.
"A community is infinitely more brutalised by the habitual employment of punishment than it is by the occasional occurrence of crime." -Oscar Wilde
Shrunk

Male

Canada (ca)
Print view this post

Re: Gay premier has no right to implement sex ed program

#2  Postby Sendraks » Feb 25, 2015 2:05 pm

So McNaughton - it is fine with you for parents not to educate their children about sex at all? Give them no grounding about what's involved, what's acceptable, what's safe? Plenty of parents fail to do that you know.

Heaven forfend that the state try to provide a consistent education for everyone.