Bernie Sanders 2016?

Senator To Announce Bid For Democratic Nomination

For discussion of politics, and what's going on in the world today.

Moderators: kiore, Blip, The_Metatron

Re: Bernie Sanders 2016?

#2781  Postby Oldskeptic » Apr 29, 2016 2:18 am

willhud9 wrote:
Willie71 wrote:
Columbus wrote:
I am a family therapist, and by far the greatest influence on a child's development is the parents and immediate social network.

When you are a hammer everything looks like a nail.
Tom

So 100 years of research is wrong? I'll keep my thoughts to myself. This is just a trolling statement. Einstein might be wrong, some claim he is. Evolution might be wrong, and some claim it is. Hammer/nail I guess?

No 100 years of research is not wrong...when you can provide academic material to back it up.

Oldskeptic is in the same position. You both made positive claims and neither of you actually provided citation for said claims.
Just because you happen to be a family therapist does not mean your claim is suddenly validated as being true or more factually correct than others. (If memory serves me correct Oldskeptic is also in the field of psychology).

But whining and hiding behind your position as a therapist is not logical, nor does it contribute anything to the discussion. Columbus had an issue with your claim. All you have to do is provide source material for said claim...and as a family therapist I would hope you'd be able to access journals and research that back up your claims especially for parents that want to read up on said material.

Not everything is trolling.

No, I'm not in the field of psychology, but I do have a keen interest in psychology due to immense curiosity, and I try to keep up in my reading.

Other than that I hope my post #2780 adequately provides you with my sources.
There is nothing so absurd that some philosopher will not say it - Cicero.

Traditionally these are questions for philosophy, but philosophy is dead - Stephen Hawking
Oldskeptic

Male